Home

My friend Susana is Basque and lately she keeps sending me picture of the Menorquinas, some shoes she is really into. The Menorquinas, called aslo Avarcas, are the typical shoes from the spanish Isle of Menorca (or Minorca) originally used by the shepherds and farmers of the island. I was not totally aware of them before, but now that Sus’ enthusiasm about these shoes came to me also I notice that they are actually becoming popular even here in London, where there are no shepherds and, let me say that, there is not the kind of weather that gives you the chance and the need to wear Menorquinas all the time.

Anyway, long story short: because of my friend, my recent short holiday in Barcelona and my extreme need of real Summer, I am into avarcas too. Because they are made by basic things (rubber sole, upper shoe open on the toe, made with cow or pig leather), these shoes are affordable, but at the same time they have good quality and they are comfortable.

So, despite the London’s weather I got my own white Menorquinas from Barcelona and I am really happy of this purchase! And if you have no chance to go to Spain there are a lot of websites from which you can buy them, but also you can go to TopshopRiver Island or Urban Outfitters that, as I said, are beginning to sell them too.

Now we just need some proper sun and we can all wear Menorquinas everyday!

apiece apart

apiece apart

Riudavets USA – menorquinas for Apiece Apart

river island

River Island

topshop

Topshop

urban outfitters

Solilas Sandals for Urban Outfitters

avarcas

avarcas

avarcas

avarcas

avarcas

me

me 🙂

Here some good websites where you can find amazing menorquinas.

savam.es

avarcacastell.com

riudavetsusa.com

espadrillestoer.com

avarcashop.com

menorkinas.com

menorquinasusa.com

abarcasmenorquinas.com

abarcas.net

veranoshoes.com

By Anna D.

Leave a Reply

