Home

Bernardo Bertolucci’s poem on screen and the 90s style.

stealing beauty

Stealing Beauty (by Bernardo Bertolucci – Italy 1996 – with Liv Tyler, Jeremy Irons, Sinéad Cusack, Joseph Finnes, Donald McCann, Stefania Sandrealli, Carlo Cecchi).

I owe the summer another summery movie, and I am 110% sure that this is the right choice. Stealing Beauty is one of the most poetic, sexy/seductive movies I have ever seen. I remember the first time I saw it: I had to hide it from my mom who thought I was “too young” to watch a movie of “that kind”. I felt so grown up! And I still love it as I loved it the first time.

The location, an amazing villa on a hilltop in the Tuscan countryside, is my ideal place where one day I would like to live. The beauty of the place is emphasized by Bertolucci, whom is the perfect example of someone who makes of the cinema an art…and this movie “screams” Bernardo Bertolucci.

stealing beauty

stealing beauty

stealing beauty

stealing beauty

stealing beauty

stealing beauty

Liv Tyler’s character, Lucy, is pretty enigmatic and…yes…also kind of weird sometimes. She is fascinating. Then there is Jeremy Irons: what can I say? I absolutely venerate him!

Of course I see in this movie a really interesting style: shot in the middle of 90s, and so completely “grungy/shabby style”, it is ironically totally up-to-date. And Lucy is my main, and only, character I wanted to focus on this time. Hope you don’t mind 🙂

LOOK ONE

stealing beauty

stealing beautyStealing Beauty 1

1.Zara  2.&Other Stories  3.Topshop

LOOK TWO

stealing beauty

Stealing Beauty 2

1.Zara  2.&Other Stories  3.Topshop

LOOK THREE

stealing beauty

stealing beauty

Stealing Beauty 3

1Topshop  2.Espadrillas  3.Beyond Retro

LOOK FOUR

stealing beauty

Stealing Beauty 4

1.Topshop  2.Topshop  3.Hypanema  4.shorts Topshop

By Anna D.

Leave a Reply

