Home

A weirdly beautiful story.

Submarine (by Richard Ayoade – UK 2010 – with Craig Roberts, Yasmin Paige, Noah Taylor, Sally Hawkins, Paddy Considine).

“I find that the only way to get through life is to picture myself in an entirely disconnected reality […] In many ways I prefer my own company: it gives me time to think”. Oliver Tate is a 15-year-old boy from Swansea, who monitors “the intimacy” of his parents (whom “have had no sex in seven months”), writes pamphlets about how to live with the bullying and has a crush on Jordana Bevan, a classmate as weird as he is.

I was quite skeptical about this movie, even when I was watching it: in general I find a bit hard to follow movies with this kind of topics. But now that I re-think about it I have to admit I really liked it. The images are beautiful, as well as the choice of the music (the songs are written and sang by Arctic Monkeys‘ front, Alex Turner) and, of course, costumes. I love Noah Taylor, and the pair Roberts-Paige is just perfect!

Another nice and stylish movie in my list of Cinema&Fashion.

submarine

submarine

submarine

submarine

submarine

submarine

submarine

submarine

submarine

LOOK ONE – OLIVER

submarine

submarine

submarine

submarine-Oliver

1.Topman  2.Ben Sherman  3.Topman  4.Next  5.COS  6.COS  7.River Island  8.Topman  9.River Island

LOOK TWO – JORDANA

submarine

submarine

submarinegif (click on the picture)

submarine-Jordana

1.Herschel  2.Zara  3.COS  4.Zara  5.Four Seasons-John Lewis  6.Next  7.COS


By Anna D.

One thought on “Cinema&Fashion #013# – Submarine

Leave a Reply

